Noisemaker: Vanessa Barnes of Semi Sweet

14 Sep

In Orange County, there is only one group predominately of females who call their music “bitch pop.” Their name in itself can tell you a lot about their music. Semi Sweet can be dark sometimes, nice sometimes and sexy with songs like “Sleazy.” Plus who doesn’t love a female drummer? Female drummers are a rarity but thankfully more and more ladies are starting to pick up drumsticks and show the boys how girls can kick ass too. Vanessa Barnes is one of the few female drummers in OC (Tomorrows Tulips and The Colourist also do) and she knows how to rock it. Let’s get to know her a little better.

Vanessa Barnes, drummer, Semi Sweet

City of residence:

Costa Mesa

Your first music encounter ( a song, performance, instrument):

When I was little my dad used to always play Pink Floyd’s Dark Side of The Moon, and I loved it. I’d tell him to play the “Fish Bowl Song,” which was actually titled, “Wish You Were Here” (one of the lyrics says “We’re just two lost souls swimming in a fish bowl…”)

What would you say is one of the best songs ever?

“Hallowed Be Thy Name” by Iron Maiden

Your favorite song by an artist from Southern California right now:

It’s a toss up between “The Real Thing” and “Indian Death Cheer” by my favorite local band Railroad to Alaska.

An artist you can’t believe you actually liked once in your life:

Britney Spears…. and by “once in your life”… I mean now…

Drummer you look up to:

Carla Azar (Autolux). Her drum beats are so original and tasty.

We asked Vanessa to fill the blanks for us and here’s what she had to say:

Semi Sweet’s music is a little bitter.

I could eat every day.

My favorite animal is a Manticore-Saw. Half lion, half man, half chainsaw.

My biggest pet peeve is when people are constantly tapping on things. However, its OK when i do it.

I can’t wait to take a nap, then go to another show.

I’ve never stressed out more than I have about my two gold fish Lucy (short for Lucifer) and Klaus. I’m always afraid I’m going to accidentally kill them by over/under feeding them, inaccurate water temperature, etc. I’ve had terrible nightmares for weeks…

My nickname is  Chainsaw.

Roommate rule #1 is: Apparently, you must be in a band, seeing as I live with Cassie Walter (Semi Sweet), Justin Morales (Railroad to Alaska), and Ryan Radcliff (Honeypie). I live in the “Sweet Alaskan Pie House” and there is never a shortage of music.

If you want to buy me a drink at a show, make it a Jack and Diet Coke, although its unlikely that I will turn anything down.

Leave a Reply

